The Stages of PTSD Recovery

Posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) recovery can be a completely unique experience for every person.

This is primarily because the experiences that led to your PTSD were unique to you, and your reactions to posttraumatic stress disorder are also unique to you. There are, however, several common PTSD stages that can help you to better understand how you react and how you can recover.

5 Stages of PTSD

Stage 1: The Emergency Stage
The first of the post-traumatic stress stages is referred to as either the outcry stage or the emergency stage. During this stage, your responses to everything around you will be intense and your anxiety levels will be off-the-chart high; this often the stage where you will feel the instinctual “fight or flight” response kicking into gear.
Stage 2: The Numbing Stage

The second of the PTSD stages is referred to as the denial or the numbing stage. When it comes to PTSD, denial is a fairly large concern that will need to be addressed during treatment. In this phase, you will instinctively do your utmost to protect yourself from further mental anguish by denying the emotions that you are truly struggling with.The avoidance of emotion is very often your mind’s way of trying to reduce and eliminate the high levels of stress and anxiety that you are feeling. Without the proper PTSD recovery program and compassionate professional treatment, many find that they are not able to move beyond the numbing stage.

Stage 3: The Intrusive/Repetitive Stage
The third of the PTSD stages is referred to as the intrusive repetitive phase. You may find that despite your best efforts to deny how you are feeling, you are now experiencing nightmares, flashbacks, and are increasingly anxious and jumpy. This can often be the most destructive of all of the post-traumatic stress stages, but it is also the stage at which you may finally be willing to wholly confront PTSD trauma that is controlling your life and the lives of those who care about you.
Stage 4: The Transition Stage

In the fourth stage you begin to enter into recovery from PTSD. It is called the transition stage because you begin to move into a new level of acceptance and understanding of what happened and how it has been affecting your life.This is the stage where healing finally starts to occur. You will be able to have a much more positive outlook on your life and a much clearer idea as to how you can overcome PTSD.

Stage 5: The Integration Stage

The fifth stage, known as the integration stage, occurs when you begin to successfully work through your PTSD recovery program. As you learn coping mechanisms to address and overcome your PTSD symptoms, you can begin to integrate these new skills into your daily life and move forward.Getting to this stage may take some time, and you may find that you regress a little bit when you are struggling with stressful situation. It is important to remember to always lean on the coping skills that you learned while undergoing treatment at a PTSD recovery center.


Getting Valuable PTSD Recovery Help

We recognize that it can be difficult to ask for help, especially if you are experiencing the fear and anxiety associated with PTSD. When you call our toll-free helpline you will find that our counselors are compassionate and considerate to the sensitivity of the issues you are struggling with. Call our toll-free number, (877) 345-1887 no matter the time of day, and allow us to help you find the treatment and resources you need to overcome PTSD and move forward with your life.